The raw material cotton

THE COTTON

Baumwolleknospe_News_Zeltwelt. Ch

Cotton is one of the best known natural fibers and is most commonly used as a textile fiber. Cotton is extracted from the seed hairs of the cotton plant, a shrub-like plant. Botanically, this belongs to the mallow family. There are different species through 20, but only 4 species are cultivated for cotton production.
Cotton is very absorbent and can absorb up to 65% of its own weight in water.

HISTORY

Cotton was already in 5800 years BC in Central America. In China and India 3000 years BC Known. Only from 800 n. Chr. Came cotton products by Arabian merchants to Europe and only 600 years later, in the 14. Century, a larger amount of cotton was processed in southern Germany. First, the cotton was spun in Augsburg and Ulm and woven mainly in linen. Already 100 years before Arabs made the cotton known in Sicily and Spain. To the 17. Century led Augsburg to the industrial mass production. Other inventions, such as the spinning machine and the mechanical loom, increased the production volumes considerably.

Despite the competition from numerous chemical fibers, cotton still covers a large part of the total textile fiber consumption. Since about 1969, the world production of raw cotton has almost doubled. At the beginning of the 70s, cotton was reduced to a market share of 34% by the much cheaper polyester staple fiber in the overall fiber market. However, cotton fiber rebounded again at the beginning of the 90s and its market share increased to 50%. Due to the general trend towards natural fiber products, cotton was able to further expand its market position also in the organic segment.

CULTIVATION & PROCESSING

The cotton is harvested after flowering, when the fruit capsules burst open after about 8 weeks and a white pad swells out. When harvesting with the picking machine huge quantities are harvested with the capsules, which later have to be removed in several steps. The picked cotton is pressed into a big bale with the press. Subsequently, the cotton fiber is separated in the ginning machine by means of steel combs of capsule residues and seeds. With unbleached fabrics, however, capsule remnants are sometimes recognizable as black spots. Then the finished combed cotton is transported to the spinning mill. In the spinning mill, the cotton is picked a second time and cleaned again before it enters the carding machine. In the carding machine, the individual fibers are combed, sorted by fiber length and combined into carding belts. For the textile industry, as long as possible fibers (3-5cm) are used. The spinning machine then twists a yarn out of the cotton fibers. Depending on your needs, the yarn is dyed and woven into fabrics on the loom.

QUALITIES

The cotton has excellent spinning properties. Looking at the fiber under the microscope, it looks like a flat band with corkscrewing twists. Through these twists, the fibers adhere well to each other during spinning despite the smooth fiber surface. In addition, cotton is extremely resistant to both mechanical and chemical influences. It has a high tear and abrasion resistance in wet conditions and is heat resistant. In addition, cotton is easy to clean and has excellent color properties.


Properties of cotton

resistant
good spinnability
easy to dye
moisture absorption
breathability
good price and performance ratio

Zeltwelt Subscribe to newsletter (only in German)

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive in the future exciting news, the latest offers from our marketplace as well as tips and tent stories from the world of natural tents conveniently in your digital mailbox.

Translate »
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×

La matière première coton

Le coton

Baumwolleknospe_News_Zeltwelt. Ch.

Le coton est l'une des fibres naturelles les plus connues et est le plus couramment utilisé comme fibre textile. Le coton est extrait des poils de la graine du cotonnier, une plante semblable à un arbuste. Botaniquement, cela appartient à la famille des mauves. Il existe différentes espèces via 20, mais seules les espèces 4 sont cultivées pour la production de coton.
Le coton est très absorbant et peut absorber jusqu’à 65% de son propre poids en eau.

HISTOIRE

Le coton était déjà dans les années 5800 avant JC en Amérique centrale. En Chine et en Inde, années 3000 av. Connu Seulement des produits de coton 800 N ° Chr. Sont entrés par des marchands arabes en Europe et seulement 600, quelques années plus tard, dans le 14. Siècle, une plus grande quantité de coton était transformée dans le sud de l’Allemagne. Tout d'abord, le coton a été filé à Augsbourg et à Ulm et tissé principalement en lin. Déjà 100, quelques années avant que les Arabes fassent connaître le coton en Sicile et en Espagne. Pour le 17. Siècle a conduit Augsbourg à la production industrielle en série. D'autres inventions, telles que la machine à filer et le métier à tisser mécanique, ont considérablement augmenté les volumes de production.

Malgré la concurrence de nombreuses fibres chimiques, le coton représente encore une part importante de la consommation totale de fibres textiles. Depuis environ 1969, la production mondiale de coton brut a presque doublé. Au début des 70, la fibre de base en polyester, beaucoup moins chère sur l'ensemble du marché, a été réduite à une part de marché de 34%. Cependant, la fibre de coton a de nouveau rebondi au début des 90 et sa part de marché a augmenté pour atteindre 50%. En raison de la tendance générale aux produits à base de fibres naturelles, le coton a pu renforcer davantage sa position sur le marché, y compris dans le segment des produits biologiques.

CULTURE ET TRAITEMENT

Le coton est récolté après la floraison, lorsque les capsules de fruits s'ouvrent au bout de quelques semaines environ et qu'une grappe blanche se gonfle. Lors de la récolte avec la machine à cueillir, des quantités énormes sont récoltées avec les capsules, qui doivent ensuite être éliminées en plusieurs étapes. Le coton récolté est pressé dans une grosse balle. La fibre de coton est ensuite séparée dans la machine à égrener au moyen de peignes en acier composés de résidus de capsules et de graines. Cependant, avec les tissus non blanchis, les restes de capsules sont parfois reconnaissables comme des points noirs. Ensuite, le coton peigné fini est transporté vers la filature. Dans la filature, le coton est cueilli une deuxième fois et nettoyé avant d'être introduit dans la carde. Dans la cardeuse, les fibres individuelles sont peignées, triées par longueur de fibre et combinées en courroies de cardage. Pour l'industrie textile, des fibres aussi longtemps que possible (8-3cm) sont utilisées. La machine à filer tord ensuite un fil en fibres de coton. En fonction de vos besoins, le fil est teint et tissé dans les tissus du métier à tisser.

QUALITÉS

Le coton a d'excellentes propriétés de filature. En regardant la fibre au microscope, cela ressemble à une bande plate avec des tours de tire-bouchon. Grâce à ces torsades, les fibres adhèrent bien les unes aux autres lors de la filature malgré la surface lisse des fibres. De plus, le coton est extrêmement résistant aux influences mécaniques et chimiques. Il présente une résistance élevée à la déchirure et à l'abrasion dans des conditions humides et résiste à la chaleur. De plus, le coton est facile à nettoyer et possède d'excellentes propriétés de couleur.


Propriétés du coton

résistant
bonne aptitude à la rotation
facile à teindre
l'absorption d'humidité
respirabilité
bon rapport prix / performance

Zeltwelt s'abonner

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter et recevez à l'avenir des informations intéressantes, les dernières offres de notre marché, ainsi que des conseils et des récits de tentes du monde des tentes naturelles dans votre boîte aux lettres numérique.

Traduire "
Votre navigateur est expiré!

Mettez à jour votre navigateur pour afficher ce site correctement. Mettre à jour mon navigateur maintenant

×